Historical fiction (fantasy) · Young adult

The Dark Days Club

Hi!

Last weekend I finished The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman.

First of all, I want to say that the novel takes its time to begin. You don’t know exactly where it’s going for a while; but when it does, the story kicks off. It is definitely part of a series, and I can’t wait to read the second instalment for a bit more actions!

The Dark Days Club tells the story of Lady Helen, a young aristocratic lady in London during the Regency (1812). She is thrust into the world of Reclaimers and Deceivers. She is a direct inheritor of the gift of Reclaiming which happens very rarely. She is therefore called the harbinger of evil ==> she is exceptionally talented to counterbalance an exceptional evil which is about to come.

There is a great dynamic between her and Lord Carlston, her mentor who is dark, tall, and strongly built and out of the ordinary. He reminded me of Warden in The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon (although, I prefer Warden *wink*).

The climax of the book clearly leads to her decision to remain or not a Reclaimer, because she has the choice, contrary to the others. This choice is linked to the man she will choose, Lord Carlston (and the Dark Days Club) or the Duke or Selburn (and a normal life). I guess the choice is obvious *double wink*.

I think that the following novels of the series will be more interesting and more action-packed. To my mind, this is what this novel was lacking, fights and badass actions. Too many balls for my taste. Although you cannot blame Goodman for inserting history elements about the Regency in her novel.

I rated this novel 3.5*/5.

Cheers, -A.

The DDC

Leave a comment