book tag

The Musical Theatre book tag

Good morning/afternoon/evening,

Since I haven’t finished the book I’m currently reading (Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo), I’ve decided to do a book tag, that is to answer some questions about books according to a certain theme. For my first book tag, I’ve decided to go for the Musical Theatre book tag created by booktuber Lydia on Youtube (somethinglikelydia.youtube.com).This tag consists of picking books based on question inspired by Musical Theatre. So let’s get started!

  1. Wicked: favourite fictional friendship

Ooh this one is tough, there are so many great ones. I would say that my favourite friendship of all time is Harry Potter and Ron Weasley. They had their difficulties but they overcame every one of them. They have each other’s backs no matter what. Ron accepted Harry’s celebrity, even supported him when everbody was turning their back on him. Ron was always ready to go on an adventure with Harry, no matter how crazy it was. Harry was always there to help Ron get out of a delicate situations, considered him like his brother, considered Ron’s whole family like his own. They are hilarious together and both of them against Malfoy is always entertaining.

hr.jpg

2. Sweeney Todd: favourite villain.

My favourite villain would be Jaxon Hall from The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon. Jaxon is not directly introduced as the villain; he has a strong personality, a short temper and a very tight leash around his partners’ throats but he is not outwardly villainous. At least not in The Bone Season. In The Mime Order, on the other hand (The Bone Season #2), he is the one against whom Paige has to fight in order to survive. Nashira is still present but she is a lurking evil on this instalment. Jaxon Hall is the one shooting arrows at Paige’s back. That’s his thing; he is very lovable in front of Paige but you clearly understand that he is calculating and mischievous.

jaxon hall.png

3. Phantom of the Opera: favourite fictional love triangle

Okay, for this one I’m gonna say Celeana / Choal / Dorian in Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I’m only picking the first book of the series because the relationships afterwards become highly complex. So, yes. The dynamic between these three characters is very enjoyable in this novel: the two men are trying, in their own ways, to gain the lady’s heart, Dorian by being his ever-so-charming self and Chaol by exhausting her through training. Celeana is very girly and not insensitive to the men’s charm and personality. Besides, they develop into amazing characters.

throne of gladd.jpg

4. The Lion King: Best fictional sidekick

This question is one of my favourite ones. My favourite fictional sidekick would be Robin Ellacott from the Cormoran Strike series by Robert Galbraith aka J. K. Rowling. Robin starts off as a temp secretary supposed to help Strike put his business back on track. Then she starts to like working for a private eye and quits her job. She has a strong personality at the same time as being sympathetic, lovable and calm. She has unexpected skills and qualities which are revealed along the series. She is incredibly complex and smoothes Strike’s rough edge in perilous situations. I very much like her.

robin.jpg

5. Grease: book with the least favourite ending

Okay, this one was hard to find but I’ve settled for, and this is going to raise criticism, His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman. I loved the series, the characters and the plot. And although I get the ending and why it has to end like this, I find it very sad that they’re never going to see each other ever again. I won’t say too much so as not to spoil anyone but that what I think; that’s the part which disappointed me. Those who’ve read the novel will get what I mean.

his dark materials.jpg

6. Matilda: favourite book adaptation

Except Harry Potter, my favourtie book adaptation would be Divergent by Veronica Roth. I think that they did not stray too far from the original story and Tris and Four are powerfully rendered on screen. I will not talk about the sequels which I’ve found slightly disappointing but the first instalment was pretty close to what I imagined when I read the book. I liked Tris, and even Jeanine.  The concept of the factions was well adapted as well.

divergent.jpg

7. Les Misérables: favourite death in a book

*Spoiler Alert* Do not read if you haven’t read A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.

And lastly, favourite death in a book. The one I’ve chosen is not a real death, and no, it’s not Harry Potter’s death scene at the end of Deathly Hallows, but the one I’ve chosen kind of resembles it. The death I’m talking about is Feyre’s at the end of A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. Feyre has been battling and enduring Amarantha’s trials for days and days. In order to survive, she has to willingly sacrifce two Fae people to complete Amarantha’s last task and although he doesn’t die, she has to plunge a dagger into Tamlin’s heart. Amarantha, however, furious to have lost against a human, tortures Feyre to death. Feyre, within seconds of imminent death, manages to solve Amarantha’s riddle which secures immediate safety and freedom for all the Spring Court as well as Tamlin’s. And then Amarantha kills her; and during precious seconds Feyre’s conscious is still alive, the reader sees to what extent she wishes to survive, to live, to experience the world… Fortunately, she is resurrected by the seven High Lords and she becomes High Fae. So yes, this will be it, my favourite death would be Feyre’s death scene.

acotar.jpg

Well that’s it. I hope you enjoyed this blog post.

See you soon,

Cheers, -A.

wicked

 

Leave a Reply

