short story

The Mammoth Book of Dark Magic

Hello and Happy Halloween!

As it is October 31th , I’ve thought it was only right to do a review on something a bit spooky. And so here is The Mammoth Book of Dark Magic edited by Mike Ashley. This book is a collection of 23 short stories about wizards and witches.

Some of them were really good and I would have loved to have more of their stories. Some of their characters were endearing, moving and funny. They dealt with magic in all its form, good (sort of), black, occult, corrupt… While I really liked most of them, a few were quite boring and too too too long. I confessed to have skipped 4 of them, but seriously, I couldn’t….

I’m glad to have finally read this book as it has stayed for 3 years unread on my bookshelf.

I don’t have a lot to say about this book as each story is completely different from the next. All you have to know is that you won’t have any fairy godmother in this, as the title suggests, it deals with ‘Dark Magic’. And you also find some stories about well known writers such as Marion Zimmer Bradley or Ursula Le Guin.

I any case, I rated this book 3*/5.

Cheers, -A.

dark-magic

Leave a Reply

