Fantasy · Young adult

The Assassin’s Blade

Greetings from Terrasen!

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas is collection of novellas about Celeana at the time before the actual Throne of Glass series.

This volume features 5 novellas:

The Assassin and the Pirate Lord

The Assassin and the Healer

The Assassin and the Red Desert

The Assassin and the Underwolrd

The Assassin and the Empire


So this is Celeana before she was sent to Endovier. She’s already Adarlan’s Assassin but she is only 16. Through the novellas we follow her as she develops feeling for Sam Cortland whom we finally get to meet. We also know what she did in the Red Desert and the Silent Assassins; as well as what happened the night Sam died.

There is a strong character development in this book as it is the first time Celeana (in her life / not if you started the series with Throne of Glass) stands up again Arobynn for a greater good. We can see her being torn apart between her allegiance to Arobynn and her fear of him.

Everyone she meets has an impact in her life and teaches her something, either willingly or not: compassion, feeling of betrayal (or being betrayed), love, solidarity, friendship, hope, courage…

I wasn’t disappointed at all with this book. The Throne of Glass series is one of my all time favourite fantasy series.

I rated this book 5*/5.

Cheers, -A

Assassin's Blade


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s