bildungsroman · Fantasy

The Wise Man’s Fear (part 2)

Hi there! Long time no see!

Hum… yes, it took me a while to read this beast. But here I am, I’m done.

It seems I did my last post just in time, it was precisely the middle of the book. In the second part of the novel, Kvothe leaves the university of Imre for a while and goes to the far east of the map. There, he has to help the Maer, the richest man of the world, to woo a young girl of an important family. He accomplishes this task rather quickly and easily, as expected. In the meantime, he saves the said Maer from death plotted by his own doctor.

His relationship with Denna is still very much complicated and worsens throughout the book. I’m still not sure what I feel about this character. Do I like her ? Don’t I? I’ve some difficult to wrap my head around her.

After that, Kvothe has the opportunity to learn about the secret martial of the Adem, the silent mercenaries, and in between he loses his virginity at the hands of Felurian, the legendary Fae.

Needless to say that this second part of the novel is more action-packed than the first (I even regretted my first post at some point). Yet, I still maintain my point that the novel is too full of details which prevents the plot to develop.

In any case, there is still a long time to wait until the publication of the third and last novel of the trilogy.

I rated this book 3*/5.

Cheers, -A.

Wise Man's Fear

Leave a Reply

