Dystopia · Young adult

The Mime Order

Hello, O my lovely!

Today is a sad day. Today is the day I’ve finished The Mime Order (The Bone Season #2) by Samantha Shannon and I have to wait until March 2017! to read the third novel, The Song Rising, of the series.

Now, what can I say? This novel is mindblowing! I loved it (and still do) from cover to cover. In this second instalment, Paige Mahoney, aka the Pale Dreamer, has to make a name for herself while being suspected of murder and high treason. Since her escape from the colony of Sheol I, Scion London has become a maze in which she is a mouse being chased. Her Mime-Lord, Jaxon Hall, aka the White Binder, turns a blind eye and a deaf hear to her warnings about the Rephaim’s control of the government but because of the rules of the syndicate and the corruption that has spread through the members of the syndicate during two centuries, Paige is readily discredited. However thanks to Warden who reappers in her life (to my utmost delight!) and some loyal and faithful friends, Paige manages to turn the tables. At the end of the novel, London is upside down (and me with it).

The relationships in the novel have greatly evolved and the characters have matured. The story is some kind of whodunit with supernatural elements which add thrills to its development. The emotions are skillfuly transcoded onto the page so my heart was racing with Paige’s, my mind was aching with Paige’s and I was sweating with her through pain and fear. I cannot have enough compliment for this novel as well as for its prequel. I had no idea what I was boarding on but I do not regret the ride one instant .

I cannot recommend the series enough. And I’ve learned something recently, as I was doing some research on it, that it is part of a septology! Seven books of this great story. YEESSS! I really hope (and I’m sure) that the wait for the next book will be worth it. Meanwhile On the Merits of Unnaturalness is a nice addition to the series to help you understand what are the differences between the several order and the many clairvoyants, even though it gave me quite a laugh. It can be found for £0,73 on Amazon.co.uk (https://www.amazon.co.uk/Merits-Unnaturalness-Bone-Season-ebook/dp/B01CKXS1RS/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1463060356&sr=1-1&keywords=on+the+merits+of+unnaturalness)

I obviously rated it 5*/5!

Cheers, -A.

The Mime Order

Leave a Reply

